Meet the Board Members
Return to Board Members
  1. Dayle M. Smith, PhD
    Dayle M. Smith, PhD
​​Dayle M. Smith, PhD,  Dean of the School of Business at Clarkson University,  holds her PhD in Organizational Communication from the Annenberg School at the University of Southern California.  In her last three years at Clarkson, she has been instrumental in growing a diverse faculty; merging two business schools; fundraising; and, co-leading the design and development of a boundary spanning Innovation Hub—one of three key university initiatives for the Schools of Engineering, Arts & Sciences and Business.

Prior to joining Clarkson, she was on the faculty at USC, Georgetown University and spent 20 years at  University of San Francisco as a Professor of Leadership.  She was selected as a Fulbright Scholar in 2010-11, joining an interdisciplinary team on a multi-year initiative with 7 Hong Kong public universities to reform Hong Kong’s General Education Curriculum nationwide.   Dr. Smith has taught internationally throughout Southeast Asia and in Europe working with executives, MBAs, and undergraduates in a number of diverse programs. 

Author of over 25 books and numerous articles in her discipline, Dr. Smith’s research has focused primarily on leadership, communication and organizational behavior.  She is an active consultant on design thinking, developing innovation cultures and leadership development.   She has consulted with organizations in the areas of: strategy, leadership, team development, and executive coaching. 

Co-founder of an entrepreneurial start-up, Lexingford Publishing, she, also serves on several boards including an international NGO and is a  founding Board member and Co-Chair of the North Country’s Young Women’s Leadership Institute.  Smith is past president of the Northeast Business Dean’s Association (NEBDA), and on the Steering Committee of AACSB’s Women Administrators in Management Education (WAME).

Dean, School of Business
Clarkson University